nook Simple Touch 18-month review

by gorthx

I’ve had my simple touch for well over a year now, and I’m still pretty happy with it, especially since I’m traveling a bunch.

Initial review
6 month review

Updates on specific issues:
– I haven’t had any further problems with mangled print; I suspect that was a feature of the particular material I was reading.
– I never did get ebrary to work correctly, but my library doesn’t offer that anymore anyway, so it’s moot.
– I said I would purchase one again (and they’re going for about $70 right now), but I’d rather get a kobo just for philosophical reasons. I like the “open ebook format” idea.

Speaking of kobo, yes you can read kobo books on your nook. You just need to download them in the Adobe epub format, and use ADE to load them. (This works just fine with Wine on Ubuntu.)

My library offers two e-lending options: OverDrive (the new incarnation of library2go) and 3M Cloud Library. They’re both now searchable from my library’s catalog and from their respective websites, which makes finding stuff to read much simpler.

I prefer OverDrive because it’s more straightforward to use.

Downloads from the 3M Cloud Library are quirky and very slow (sometimes taking multiple hours), and the app crashes frequently. I haven’t tried running it on Windows yet; my problems may be due to using it with Wine. You do need to use 3M’s app to download books to an e-reader, as the web interface doesn’t do this.

Library2go used to provide a way to “return” ebooks before the lending period was up; no more. 3M doesn’t allow that either. If you are particularly voracious you will bump up against the 5 item limit in short order. Checked-out materials become unreadable on your device once the lending period is up. (Other e-lending solutions I’ve tried allow you to keep reading the book until you re-sync your device.) This left me stranded 30 pages from the end of a book I was really enjoying. Boo.

The nook itself has started getting a bit flaky: the touchscreen randomly doesn’t work, and sometimes the hard buttons cause it to skip ahead multiple pages. I cleaned it with a soft toothbrush & eyeglasses cloth, as discussed here, and that seems to have cleared it up[1]. If not, there’s always the option to take it apart and put it back together again.

One strange thing I’ve noticed is ADE shows a lot of “missing” books that don’t show up on a regular directory listing of the nook. They seem to be duplicate file listings; even if I delete them through ADE, they show back up next time I connect the nook. Still trying to figure that piece out.


1 – This is what happens when you take electronics camping.

Tags:
