Postgres Monitoring Wishlist

by gorthx

Since “what should I monitor in my database” has come up in conversation several times lately, I thought I’d put this here where I (theoretically) won’t lose it. I’ll save for later the discussion of where to get this info and which tools give me which stats :)

Bare minimum:
server CPU, memory, I/O, network usage, and all “slow” queries logged.

More extensive:
System stats:
CPU usage, per-proc if available
Memory usage, including swap
disk usage (in terms of space – pay special attention to database partitions)
disk I/O
disk busy
network stats, including errors (if you have a Cisco network & are friends with the network team, netflow data is cool to have)

If I could have everything I wanted: everything from vmstat and iostat extended data

Pg stats:
number of connections
transactions
idle transactions
commits vs rollbacks
locks
checkpoint frequency
database size
table size (plus bloat, if we can find a good query for it)
index size (same)

If I could have everything I wanted:
everything from pg_stat_database, pg_stat_sys_*, pg_statio_*, and pg_stat_user_activity

Activity logs configured as outlined here.

Then there’s a whole class of things that fall under “How long does it take to…”: do a backup, restore a backup, etc.

4 Comments to “Postgres Monitoring Wishlist”

  1. xid wraparound is in “bare minimum”, as is bloat. Much more important than CPU usage even. Oldest prepared transaction. Oldest xmin.

  2. Don’t forget to monitor the xid age to stay informed about the need for vacuum. If auto vacuum can’t keep up, you have a problem…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

